Author Spotlight: Jennifer Howard

Picture

And now it’s time for another author spotlight: Jennifer Howard!

1. Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Jen and I’m a lunatic. No lie. I’m crazy, inappropriate, warped. I “lie” for a living, and I love it! I’m a wife, a mother, a daughter, a friend, a dog owner, and a super spy. Oops–I didn’t mean to say that. Now I’m gonna have to kill ya. Sorry. My bad.

2. When did you start writing, and why?
I have written all of my life. As to the why, it’s always been a part of me–it’s like breathing. I couldn’t exist and not write.

3. What do you write, and why? What do you enjoy about what you write? 
I write a little bit of everything–short stories, poetry, various genres of fiction. I haven’t tried nonfiction yet, but I’m always open to trying new things! (That to say, it’s always a possibility!) I like to switch things up, and it’s challenging to attempt different things. Sometimes it’s a flop, sometimes it’s brilliance–but every time, it’s fun! I enjoy writing, period!

4. What is your latest book? Any forthcoming books?
My currently released book is The Healing Heart. My work-in-progress is entitled The Steps to Karma. I also have a secret work-in-progress, as well. It’s a collaboration, and I’m EXTREMELY excited about it!

5. “Welcome To My Worlds”: Tell us a little about the world of your latest book.
The Steps to Karma is set in our world, mostly on the island of St. John, USVI. I absolutely liken Caribbean island life to a magical world. The scenery, the colors, the environment, the weather—purely magical!  In my book, I hope my descriptions do it justice!

6. Introduce us to some of your characters. What do you like about them?
My protagonist is named Karma Clark. She’s a burnt out D.C. divorce attorney who has some MAJOR issues and decisions to make! She’s strong, emotionally pent up, a hot mess! My favorite character, though, is Jae Jourdain. She’s 1/4 Thai, raised by her NOLA Creole Grammy, tattooed, dread locked, a hippie chick, and FUN! She interjects Cajun French phrases into her regular conversation–which throws Karma for a loop, at first. And she is the antithesis of ’emotionally pent-up’–which is GREAT to me!

7. A fun fact you would like your readers to know about you or your book:
I have travelled to St. John twice, my last trip being business and pleasure, research and vacation. I hope it shows in my book!

Picture

8. Blog/site link, and where your book is available:
My website is http://www.jennifer-howard.net. My blog is there, as well as descriptions and links to my currently published book, The Healing Heart, short stories, featured indie authors, and a sneak peek of The Steps to Karma. It’s fun! The Healing Heart is available for sale on Amazon.com: amzn.to/YdGBsR, Barnes and Noble.com:  bit.ly/ZjX7bO and on iTunes: bit.ly/16wdUvY
About kyrahalland

Kyra Halland has always loved fantasy. She has also always loved a good love story. Years ago, as a new stay-at-home mom, she decided to combine those two loves - like chocolate and peanut butter! - by writing the kinds of romantic fantasy novels she wanted to read. Complicated, honorable heroes; strong, smart, feminine heroines; magic, romance, and adventure; deep emotion mixed with a dash of offbeat humor - all of these make up Kyra Halland's worlds. She loves sharing those worlds with readers and hopes they will enjoy her stories and characters as much as she does. Kyra Halland lives in southern Arizona. She has a very patient husband, two less-patient cats, two young adult sons, a lovely daughter-in-law, and an adorable granddaughter. Besides writing, she enjoys scrapbooking and anime, and she wants to be a crazy cat lady when she grows up. View all posts by kyrahalland

Leave a Reply

