Character Interview: Perarre

Picture Here’s Perarre, from The Lost Book of Anggird, to tell you a little about herself:

1. What is your full name? Is there anything significant about your name?

My name is Perarre Tabrano. There’s nothing significant about it; it’s just a regular Essan name.

2. How old are you?

I am 22 years old.

3. Tell us about your family. What do you like and not like about them?

I’m the youngest of ten children. My father died several years ago, and my mother Malia still runs the Golden Hare, our family’s inn, in Madena, a small farming village in Essa Province. I don’t get along well with my mother, but that’s at least as much my fault as hers. I was not an easy child, and by the time I came along I think she was tired. I’m very close to my oldest sister, Samale, and she’s really been more of a mother to me. Her husband, Luka, is an amazing man, and they have seven children. If anyone was meant to have a lot of children, it’s them.

4. Who was your first kiss, and what did you think of it?

My first kiss that counts was a boy not long after I came to the University of Vorunne City when I was 13. I’m afraid I don’t remember his name, but I certainly liked it, better than I thought I would.

5. What is your occupation?

I am a translator of ancient, middle, and modern Vorunic and Lazivanic languages. I’m also a Reader, which means I’m able to read thoughts and emotions left behind on objects by people who handled them previously. This is a very useful skill for a translator, as you can probably imagine, especially if the document I’m translating is an original and not a copy. Being able to tell what the original author meant, what he was thinking and how he felt as he was writing, makes my translations a lot more accurate and meaningful.

Right now, I’m finishing up the second year of a three-year Assistantship, which is a program that graduates of the University can enter to gain further skills in their fields and to get good references from Masters and Professors on their dossiers, which gives you a big advantage in getting future employment. After I complete my Assistantship, I hope to be able to get a position with the Foreign Service, preferably one where I’ll actually be posted in a foreign country. I want to travel to as many places and see as many different things as I can, the more exotic the better.

In fact, as soon as we’re done here I’m supposed to meet with Professor Rossony – yes, that Professor Rossony – to interview for a position as a translator for him. I’ve heard he’s a sanctimonious prig and almost impossible to get along with, but a good reference from him will totally make my whole career. Keep your fingers crossed for me to get the job!

6. What are your best and worst qualities?

I’m smart, I’m a hard worker, and I take pride in my work. I’ve got a good sense of humor, and I’m friendly. As for my worst qualities, I tend to react emotionally instead of thinking things through, which has gotten me into more than a little trouble in the past. I’ve done some pretty stupid things because of that. Also, I chew my fingernails when I’m concentrating, and I’m not very good at being neat and tidy, and sometimes I’m kind of a smart-mouth.

7. What quality do you value most in a romantic partner?

I’m not looking for anything permanent, and I had enough of people trying to make decisions for me and control my life before I came to the University. So I’d like a man who’s willing to let me be myself and be independent, who won’t try to tie me down. He needs to have a good sense of humor. Looks aren’t as important, but I do prefer men who have something unique about their appearance. Beautiful eyes and a good strong nose especially catch my attention.

And – am I allowed to say this? – I like a good time in bed with a man who doesn’t have to be skilled as long as he’s enthusiastic and we’re both having fun. It’s been a while since I’ve found anyone who interests me, though. Which is probably just as well; I’ve had a few close calls with that kind of thing, with guys who weren’t as nice as I thought they were and with being afraid I was pregnant. So for now, I’m just concentrating on my career.

8. What is your favorite thing to do?

I love to read, and I love good food (that is, anything but what they serve in the Assistants’ dining hall!), and I really enjoy my work.

9. What is your greatest fear?

That something will happen to force me to leave the University and go home and live the life there that my parents expected me to. Especially if it involves marrying him. Ugh.

10. What is your most treasured possession?

My independence.


About kyrahalland

Kyra Halland has always loved fantasy. She has also always loved a good love story. She combines those two loves by writing the kinds of romantic fantasy novels she loves to read, tales of magical worlds where complicated, honorable heroes and strong, smart, feminine heroines work together to save their world - or their own small corner of it - and each other. Kyra Halland lives in southern Arizona. She's a wife, mom and mom-in-law, proud grandma, and devoted servant to three cats. View all posts by kyrahalland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: