October 2014 Wrap-up and November Preview

PictureSo I’m about a week late with the monthly wrap-up and overview. My excuse is I’ve been busy 😀 Lots of good productivity going on!

First off, in case you haven’t noticed, Beneath the Canyons, Book 1 of Daughter of the Wildings, is now available. Through tomorrow, Sunday November 9, you can get it for only 99 cents! After that, the price goes up to $3.99. Or, while it’s exclusive at Amazon for the next few months, if you have Amazon Prime or Kindle Unlimited, you can borrow it for free! If you don’t have a Kindle and don’t want to wait till I release it on the other ebook platforms, you can download the free Kindle reading app for Windows, iOS, and Android. Also, the paperback edition will be coming soon.So, that’s how I spent October.

Bad HuntingI’ve started revisions on Bad Hunting, Book 2, and hope to get about a two-month turnaround time on it, looking at a release date in late December or early January. The revisions, editing, proofreading, and formatting on Canyons took a little less than two months, so that seems like a reasonable target. Book 2 does need a lot of work, right now it reads more like a summary than a fully fleshed-out novel and I anticipate adding 15,000-20,000 words to it by the time it’s done. But the plot is fundamentally sound, and it’s a shorter book than Canyons.

November also means National Novel Writing Month, and I’m using it to get a new novel written after having spent a year working mainly on revisions. This new project is The Source-fixer (working title, I’m so bad at titles 😛 ) and you can read more about it on the Still to Come page. This is an old, abandoned idea that I picked up again. It’s better developed than it was the first time I tried to write it, and I’ve made some significant changes to the main characters that I think will help drive the story.

On the A-Z reading challenge, I’m on D right now. For some reason, I keep choosing really long books so it’s taking a while.

So that’s where I am. I’ll update my NaNoWriMo progress from time to time; right now, after starting late, I’m at about 10,000 words with another thousand or so to add tonight.

About kyrahalland

Kyra Halland has always loved fantasy. She has also always loved a good love story. Years ago, as a new stay-at-home mom, she decided to combine those two loves - like chocolate and peanut butter! - by writing the kinds of romantic fantasy novels she wanted to read. Complicated, honorable heroes; strong, smart, feminine heroines; magic, romance, and adventure; deep emotion mixed with a dash of offbeat humor - all of these make up Kyra Halland's worlds. She loves sharing those worlds with readers and hopes they will enjoy her stories and characters as much as she does. Kyra Halland lives in southern Arizona. She has a very patient husband, two less-patient cats, two young adult sons, a lovely daughter-in-law, and an adorable granddaughter. Besides writing, she enjoys scrapbooking and anime, and she wants to be a crazy cat lady when she grows up. View all posts by kyrahalland

Leave a Reply

