Author Spotlight: Antoinette J. Houston

Red Summer1. Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a back-up cook for a franchised restaurant, I’ve just turned forty, I’m enjoying my adventures in writing and I’m a chocoholic.

2. When did you start writing, and why?
I started writing when I was about 12. Mostly because I was a book-worm with a big imagination and I couldn’t contain the ideas that were growing in my head from the fantastic worlds I was reading about.

3. What do you write, and why? What do you enjoy about what you write?
I write fantasy, adventure, urban fantasy, and sci-fi. All with a bit of suspense and romance. Because none of it’s real. It bends to my rules and I can shape it to my will. My Imagination. It never ends and it continues to surprise me.

4. What is your latest book or series? Any forthcoming books?
Latest book was the sequel to my Red Summer series: Wil’s winter. A series that was supposed to be as I had originally wrote Red Summer as a stand-alone story. But the characters decided they didn’t want to end there. So currently I’m working on a third book for that series, to tie up all the loose ends. At the same time I’m putting the final touches on the first book of my sci-fi series ‘Mostly Human’.

Wil's Winter5. “Welcome To My Worlds”: Tell us a little about the world of your latest book or series.

Mostly Human: A sentient ship, called L’loi, arrives and begins preparations for a mass exodus to other galaxies in order to preserve Human lives and cultures. Honey Cantrell is the girl we follow as her life is drastically altered when one of seven Orbs L’loi sends out to find qualified leaders find her instead. Violently. On top of that her Orb had been tampered with and filled with surprises none of them are ready for. All of the drama and action takes place on a bracelet of terra formed islands in the Pacific Basin. 6. Introduce us to some of your characters. What do you like about them?
                Major Char.- Honey Cantrell (Human)
Major Char.- Sammus De (Djins)
Minor Char.- Evvie(Human)
Minor Char.- Jet(Djins)
Minor Char.- Jelia(Djins)
Minor Char.- L’loi (Ship)
Minor Char.- Bo(Djins)
Minor Char.- Kiet/Ke’lil (Gaimarian)

I like that my characters are all going to be themselves to the fullest. Selfish, smug, arrogant, biased, evil, vindictive all of it. I have no formula for them.

7. A fun fact you would like your readers to know about you or your book.
I’m a geek. I love and collect anime, comics and video games. I love getting lost in RPGs and escaping real life in my imagination. My stories are never planned. They’re all either daydreams or dreams that have stuck with me until written.

Antoinette’s books are available at Amazon.

Where to find Antoinette:
Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

About kyrahalland

Kyra Halland has always loved fantasy. She has also always loved a good love story. Years ago, as a new stay-at-home mom, she decided to combine those two loves - like chocolate and peanut butter! - by writing the kinds of romantic fantasy novels she wanted to read. Complicated, honorable heroes; strong, smart, feminine heroines; magic, romance, and adventure; deep emotion mixed with a dash of offbeat humor - all of these make up Kyra Halland's worlds. She loves sharing those worlds with readers and hopes they will enjoy her stories and characters as much as she does. Kyra Halland lives in southern Arizona. She has a very patient husband, two less-patient cats, two young adult sons, a lovely daughter-in-law, and an adorable granddaughter. Besides writing, she enjoys scrapbooking and anime, and she wants to be a crazy cat lady when she grows up. View all posts by kyrahalland

Leave a Reply

