Author Spotlight: Eleanor Webster

Eleanor WebsterToday I’m happy to welcome Eleanor Webster to the blog, to celebrate the release of her first novel, No Conventional Miss.

1. Tell us a little about yourself.
I live in a small town in northern Canada with my husband and two daughters.  In addition to human neighbours, I also have bears and deer which frequent my backyard.  One bruin, in fact, broke my very fine cherry tree.I am a lifelong learner and have a Masters degree in educational psychology and undergraduate degrees in creative writing and history.  I use my writing to explore my fascination with the past and am thrilled to announce the publication of my first Harlequin Historical, No Conventional Miss.

2. When did you start writing, and why?
I attempted my first novel when I was in grade 5. It featured a stowaway on a freighter. However,  I lost interest in her somewhere in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

As to why I write – I write largely because I am too old to play with Barbie dolls – plus their clothes are too tricky and I always lost the shoes.

3. What do you write, and why? What do you enjoy about what you write? 
I write romance and I aim to entertain.  I work in a field of psychology which can result in heart-breaking situations and I write to create a place of ‘happy endings’ which are not always duplicated in real life.  I enjoy creating engaging and somewhat quirky characters.

For example,  in  No Conventional Miss   Rilla is an inventor and builds a butter churn which succeeds in flooding the dairy.  Lady Wyburn, another character is kind, lovely and slightly ditzy in a very smart way. For me, Lady Wyburn is that impish inner voice which notes the inanities of everyday life and enables one to cope with humor to life’s vicissitudes.

4. What is your latest book or series? Any forthcoming books?
My latest book is No Conventional Miss. It is debuting today, Oct. 1,through Harlequin Historicals. I have a two book contract with Harlequin so a second book will be released at some point… It is set slightly earlier with the backdrop of the French Revolution.

No Conventional Miss5. “Welcome To My Worlds”: Tell us a little about the world of your latest book or series.

No Conventional Miss is set in Regency England. I have always loved the Regency Period because it depicts a society poised for change. The inventions of the Industrial Revolution are emerging, bringing with them the anticipation of societal transformation.Rilla has a zest for innovation and invention. However, she is also plagued by moments of second sight and paranormal ability. Both aspects of her personality are not acceptable within the context of her society..

6. A fun fact you would like your readers to know about you or your book.
My favourite character, Lady Wyburn, is based on my conception of a grandmother I never met but with whom I identify. She was ditzy in a smart, delightful way. Apparently, she once set the veil of her hat on fire with a cigarette. I’d do something like that. In fact, my peers strongly advocated that I NOT take up smoking. Second interesting fact, I am a hand-talker. I can’t help it. Once when working with teenagers they timed me to see how long I could talk without moving my hands. I never made it past 30 seconds.

No Conventional Miss:
She’s always been different…

Amaryllis Gibson is an unlikely debutante. She favors fact over fashion, cares not for “proper” conversation and is haunted by ghostly visions which could land her in the madhouse! Marriage is definitely the last thing on Rilla’s mind…

But when she’s caught in a compromising position with Viscount Wyburn, suddenly she finds herself betrothed! And worse, his powerful presence only increases her visions. By shedding light on the viscount’s past, can Rilla gain his trust and win him round to her more…unconventional traits?

No Conventional Miss is available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

About the Author:
Eleanor Webster loves high-heels and sun, which is ironic as she lives in northern Canada, the land of snowhills and unflattering footwear. Various crafting experiences, including a nasty glue-gun episode, have proven that her creative soul is best expressed through the written word.

Eleanor lives with her husband and has two daughters. She is a lifelong learner and  is currently pursuing a doctoral degree in psychology. Eleanor has a masters degree in educational psychology and an undergraduate degree in history and creative writing. She loves to use her writing to explore her fascination with the past.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

About kyrahalland

Kyra Halland has always loved fantasy. She has also always loved a good love story. Years ago, as a new stay-at-home mom, she decided to combine those two loves - like chocolate and peanut butter! - by writing the kinds of romantic fantasy novels she wanted to read. Complicated, honorable heroes; strong, smart, feminine heroines; magic, romance, and adventure; deep emotion mixed with a dash of offbeat humor - all of these make up Kyra Halland's worlds. She loves sharing those worlds with readers and hopes they will enjoy her stories and characters as much as she does. Kyra Halland lives in southern Arizona. She has a very patient husband, two less-patient cats, two young adult sons, a lovely daughter-in-law, and an adorable granddaughter. Besides writing, she enjoys scrapbooking and anime, and she wants to be a crazy cat lady when she grows up. View all posts by kyrahalland

Leave a Reply

